So you liked PROMETHEUS. Here’s What I Have To Say About That.

Posted: June 26, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags:

A Remake Chronicles Extra by Adam-Troy Castro

Look.

It’s this simple.

Every movie is like every work of art is like every diamond in that it contains flaws, often necessary flaws.

CASABLANCA, for instance, entirely depends on the importance everybody imparts to the “letters of transit,” legal documents that are never asked for, and that the Nazis could have freely ignored by saying fuck it and dropping Victor in some alley in the dead of night. CITIZEN KANE depends on a newspaper launching a full-scale investigation of last words a dying tycoon spoke when he was alone, that nobody else was present to hear.  DIE HARD depends entirely on Hans Gruber not announcing that he will kill one hostage every thirty seconds until John McLane gives up. Flaws. Undeniable flaws. Flaws that ultimately don’t matter, but flaws nevertheless.

The nearly-universal drubbing people have been giving PROMETHEUS has prompted some plaintive responses from people who liked the film, who implore us, “Can’t I just like it? Why do you insist on ruining my enjoyment with your critical disdain?”

Answer: first of all, if your enjoyment is ruined with our critical disdain, your enjoyment is more fragile than you think, and it says something that your visceral reaction to the film is being harmed by what people say about it afterward. Maybe that pain in your head is sensible criticisms striking home, and the scales falling from your eyes.

Second: there’s nothing wrong with having the courage of your convictions. I like any number of films with an overwhelmingly negative critical consensus; I either think the critics and the audiences missed the boat, or I find other attributes that trump legitimate criticisms. It doesn’t mean I’m right and everybody else is wrong, though it can. It can also mean that my own opinion is completely off. It most often means that we’re looking at different facets of the whole and valuing them differently — the “Well, I know it makes no sense whatsoever, but the visuals are awesome” argument, that indeed works very well for this particular movie.

Third: if you are asking everybody else to indulge you by completely shutting off their own critical capacities in order to coddle your enjoyment of the pretty pictures: no. absolutely not. Complete abdication of all critical capacities and standards, as long as the pictures are pretty and the stars are photogenic, is in large part how we got all the way from the era of classic Hollywood filmmaking — *any* of those eras, in that there have been more than one — to what, for the most part, faces us now.

If you liked PROMETHEUS, you had a good two hours. Fine. Nobody hates you for it. They may think you’re screwed in the head because of it, but they shrug and move on to the next movie to argue about. In the meantime, the rest of us have the right to be vocally appalled by a setup that defies common sense, characters who consistently do the stupidest possible thing, a screenplay that seems to have failed at the premise level, and the most hackneyed of science-fictional revelations treated as if they’re unbearably mind-blowing. Me, I *did* love the visuals and *did* love the ending where Elizabeth decides she wants nothing more than to pursue the Architects to the end of the universe, because she damn well deserves answers…so, no, I don’t judge the film a total loss. Just a near-total one.

And I don’t think I’m being out of line when I want my movies to be of sufficient quality that I don’t walk away feeling conned, afterward. I want brain candy in addition to eye candy. I want an emotional experience. I miss, deeply miss, and still occasionally get, the sensation that I’ve just seen something brilliant. Given how many millions are being spent to give me that experience and how much I’m asked for in order to get my ticket, it’s really not too much to ask for.

I say to those of you who think we should just shut up and accept what we get that the solution is not to learn how to shut up and accept what we get. 

Comments
  1. Stan Winchester says:

    I never saw ‘Alien’ or its sequels. Therefore, I am not interested in seeing a ‘prequel.’
    I don’t see movies when they come out, and I have, over the years been appalled by the treatment of science fiction in the movies.
    One good way to ruin a master\piece of science fiction is to turn it into a movie.

  2. Sean P. Fodera says:

    I’m not a fan of the Alien franchise. In fact, I’ve only ever seen the first film (on video, back in the 80s or early 90s), and didn’t like it. No particularly literate criticisms I could make of it – it just wasn’t my cuppa. However, I agree with you that the idea that other people’s reactions to a film should not devalue my own. My likes and dislikes are my own, and while I may re-evaluate a film I’ve seen, or a book I’ve read, after seeing some particular piece of criticism, the whole thing is pretty subjective.

    As for PROMETHEUS, my only complaint is that Ridley Scott spent so much time working on this when he could (read, “should”) have been working on THE FOREVER WAR. But, that’s just my opinion.

Leave a Reply

